2012-13 Sacramento Kings schedule released

The NBA has released the 2012-13 schedule today which is always fun for basketball fans.  Today is a day you look over the calendar and make rash proclamations about how tough your team has it. 

Take last year for example.  I’m sure San Antonio Spurs fans weren’t too happy when their aging team of stars got three back-to-back-to-back death pills last season.  How could THAT happen?  And how could they possibly sweep all three once the ball was tipped.

Here is the exciting news.  While the Kings don’t play on ESPN or TNT this year, they do have four nationally televised games on NBA TV.

NBA TV Games

  • Nov. 24 – Utah @ Sacramento
  • Dec. 1 – Sacramento @ Clippers
  • Dec. 8 – Sacramento @ Portland
  • Feb. 9 – Utah @ Sacramento

In typical fashion, the Kings begin the season on the road, first on Halloween night in Chicago followed by back-to-back games in Minnesota and Indiana on Nov. 2 and 3.

The Kings open their home schedule Nov. 5 against the Golden State Warriors.  The Warriors game tips off a 16-game stretch where the team travels no further than Utah and plays 12 of 16 at home.

The Kings longest road stretch of the season is six games:

  • Jan. 26 – Sacramento @ Denver
  • Jan. 28 – Sacramento @ Washington
  • Jan. 30 – Sacramento @ Boston
  • Feb. 1 – Sacramento @ Philadelphia
  • Feb. 2 – Sacramento @ New York
  • Feb. 4 – Sacramento @ Utah

This six-game trip plays into a brutal stretch where they play 13 of 16 on the road between Jan. 26 and Mar. 1.

The Kings play 17 back-to-back games this season and get to see the World Champion Miami Heat at home on Saturday, Jan. 12.

While the team should have every chance to get off to a fast start, the stretch in the middle of the season is similar to what the Kings faced the previous two years.  It is an equalizer of sorts. How the Kings fight through and then bounce back from that section of the schedule will determine the season they put together.


James Ham

1 Reply to "2012-13 Sacramento Kings schedule released"